There is a bus called the Bondi Explorer that leaves Sydney and takes about 2 hours to circle a route through the city and past some beaches and then back to the city. We hadn’t any plans for any surfing or lounging around the beach days until we’d left Sydney behind us but thought this could be fun. Plus how can you come here and not see Bondi beach?

Bondi beach is a lot smaller than we imagined, but also a beautiful beach. We opted to take the coastal walk along to Bronte beach to catch the next bus. It’s an amazing walk, there a plenty of locals jogging the route, I’m jealous, what a place to live. We lay on a grass embankment for a bit, there’s a dog that comes to see us, he lets us fuss him, he sits on my legs, he sees another dog and scarpers. Walking this route reminds me of living by the surf in Cornwall, it saddens me, I desperately miss the sea. The sound, the smell, the breeze, the sometimes painful crush of the wave, the over too quick catch of a wave.

The aforementioned tickets we had bought covered us for travel until late. So that night we asked the hotel how to get to Kings Cross, an undesirable area full of seedy bars, bright lights, strippers and prostitutes. They kept suggesting we get a taxi or the tube, no way matey. We’ve paid for these tickets and by God we’re gonna get as much as we can out of ‘em.

We got the bus to Kings Cross and relied upon my geographical skills to tell when we were there. No worries. On the way there we sat behind 2 Aussie girls and were subjected to listen to their high school style talk the whole way there.

I recognised Kings Cross straight away from the bus ride through there this morning, it’s bright and trashy. I was concerned that I wouldn’t be able to get in anywhere in my scruffy trainers, I had no room for nice clothes in my backpack. This didn’t prove to be a problem.

After spending too much in a short space of time we took a walk around Kings Cross, there are plenty of ‘ladies of the night’ hanging about. There are also plenty of dirty blokes about picking up these ladies. Sadly, they give off the image that they’ve just pulled a stunner. Everyone is in large groups of young ladies or young men and I’m walking off with Becky in a short skirt (her not me), maybe I look like ‘one of them’ too, cool, got me a lady of the night too! She’ll still be there in the morning though.




Leave a Reply.